Buying a new bike - Carbon or Aluminium ???

Submitted: Wednesday, May 02, 2012 at 13:55
ThreadID: 95312 Views:2979 Replies:2 FollowUps:0
This Thread has been Archived
I am new to triathlon and I am in the market for a new bike.
I have a budget of $2000 and cant decide whether i should buy an aluminium frame or an entry level carbon road bike with 105 components. Any thoughts on this ??????
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: TriathlonOz - David - Wednesday, May 02, 2012 at 18:49

Wednesday, May 02, 2012 at 18:49
Rohan,

What a great question, I have gone through all this in the last 5 years. I only started 5 years ago myself and entered the Tri market coming from Mountain Biking.

My first road bike was a free gift from a friend going interstate. It was an old aluminium bike with old everything and a whooping 8 speed rear end, weight about as much as I did. But you know I enjoyed this bike as it made me look half decent going to races and not taking a mountain bike.

I rode this bike in a few events and it quickly became apparent that I needed something better, lighter and more up-to-date. The reason I knew this was needed was that I was actually doing really well on my bike splits even on this bike.

So next came an entry level Cannondale Synapse but it was a little more that your listed $2K more like $3K. I used this bike until last year when I identified a crack in the frame, but in the mean time I had also purchased an Azzurri TT bike which I still race now and will be racing on Saturday in the Busselton 70.3.

So what can I tell you about your purchase. Well hold off and save for as long as possible and get something as good as you can afford because you can and will keep it for a long time unless you win Lotto or something. So it is better to make the biggest investment you can afford. When I replaced the Cannondale late last year I spent more than I had allocated n the replacement but now I am very happy I did I love my Argon road bike.